Tamera Mowry-Housley Interview: Let Your Natural Beauty Shine

Let your natural beauty shine.

The world was introduced to a young Tamera Mowry in the hit ABC comedy Sister, Sister opposite identical twin sister Tia. Tamera has appeared in a number of television shows and films, including the Disney Channel movies Twitches and Twitches Too, as well as playing Dr. Kayla Morton in the medical drama Strong Medicine. She stars with sister Tia Mowry-Hardrict in the #1 Style Network docu-series Tia & Tamera. Tamera is also a co-host on The Real with Jeannie Mai, Tamar Braxton, Loni Love and Adrienne Bailon.

Born Tamera Darvette Mowry in Gelnhausen, West Germany, to Bahamian-American Darlene Renee Mowry (nee Flowers) and English American Timothy John Mowry, Tamera says that “the greatest thing about America is its diversity, and [The Real] reflects that diversity.”

A professed foodie and hopeless romantic (Tamera married Fox News correspondent Adam Housley in 2011 and the couple has a son Aden) Tamera is a natural beauty. Find out more about her beauty faves and tips in this interview with About.com Multicultural Beauty.

Multicultural Beauty: What are your favorite makeup products?

Tamera Mowry-Housley: I love Nars. I love Bobbi Brown. I love Stila, their lip gloss, Lancôme mascara. I’m not so much into lots of makeup. I’m more into the natural look, so that’s the reason why I’m so into Bobbi Brown.

The Natural Look: Bare Doesn’t Have to be Boring

MB: Do you have any problems finding the right makeup?

TMH: No. Makeup Forever is great, so is Bobbi Brown. Their tinted moisturizers are amazing.

MB: Do you like to do makeup yourself, or do you prefer having a makeup artist?

TMH: If I had my makeup artist in my back pocket, I would have her do it. Like I said, I’m barefaced most of the time.

MB: Do you and Tia have different makeup styles?

TMH: Yes. Tia is a little more dramatic, and I’m a little more feminine and natural.

MB: What are your favorite skin care products?

TMH: I love Kiehl’s. Kiehl’s is great for my skin—their facial cleanser and moisturizer. I love them.

MB: What is your skin care routine?

TMH: Drinking lots of water, that’s like my number one thing. If you want to have beautiful skin, it’s great. Also, if you want to maintain moisture, put a little bit of coconut oil on your face after you take a shower. That’s always good. I just wash and moisturize, and use sunblock. That’s really important.

MB: Do you follow any beauty trends? Any favorites?

TMH: I love the winged eyeliner that’s out right now. It’s very classic ands it’s always in. It was in in the 50’s, the 60’s, the 70’s, the 90’s. You could never go wrong with a heavy lid, and pop of color on the lips right now. Everyone’s not afraid of color and I love that right now.

MB: What is beauty to you?

TMH: Beauty to me is natural beauty. It’s confidence within, and if you look beautiful wash and go, you’re stunning to me. I’m talking about just getting in the shower, and just letting your natural beauty shine. I think everyone, if they need to wear makeup; the best is minimal. The minimal, the better. That’s what I think is beautiful.*MB*

